In DJOKAN, one speaks of levels. The levels allow the “measuring” of the evolution (physically, mentally, morally, spiritually) of the practicer of DJOKAN. One speaks therefore of levels of consciousness, of levels of awakening “Kàndjòk.

The DJOKANs fits in a path of personal development and health. The work is personal and always in the respect of one’s body and the environment.

Each Kàndjòk represents an element of nature. Thus, one finds 5 base levels and 7 superior levels.

Base Levels: The base levels deliver the necessary fundamental teaching to the practicer for the comprehension of his/her discipline and the formation of his/her body and spirit in the requirements of DJOKAN.

In this way, one distinguishes:

  1. Latè level: Earth Level

  2. level: Air Level

  3. Difé level: Fire Level

  4. Dilo level: Water Level

  5. Djòkò level: Alert Man Level ¨The link between Man and Nature.¨

One can consider a Level 0 like birth, where when one arrives in DJOKAN one does not know anything about the practice of DJOKAN et that one comes from such an ¨ignorant infant.¨

Arriving at the 5th level, one becomes Djòkò, a student, where the advanced teaching of DJOKAN starts.

Superior levels: The Superior levels represent the Superior Teaching of DJOKAN. They are symbolized by the ¨Kàn.¨ What could to be the equivalent of ¨Dan¨ in the Japanese Martial Arts. But it would be awkward to compare a Dan with a Kàn like it would be absurd to compare the DJOKAN to all other Martial Arts. Each discipline keeps its specific features, defining features, and its history.

Kàn signifies, in Guianese Creole (which is the official language of DJOKAN, see glossary), ¨sugar cane.¨ The sugar cane inspired the Gran Dôkô in its morphology which is composed of multiple nodes which represent the different levels. Levels which rise towards the sky and which describe an ascension. The Gran Dôkô found this interesting image which illustrates well its philosophy of life,  anchored in the growing land towards the sky (harmony of energies between the sky and the land). Kàn was chosen for this notion of Ascension and of constant Evolution.

One distinguishes:

  1. Djòkò

  2. Djòkò 1st Kàn

  3. Djòkò 2nd Kàn

  4. Gran Djòkò 3rd Kàn

  5. Gran Djòkò 4th Kàn

  6. Dôkô 5th Kàn

  7. Dôkô 6th Kàn

  8. Dôkô 7th Kàn

The Djòkò are the advanced students of DJOKAN.

NB: one becomes Djòkò then, after a year (minimum), one passes Djòkò 1st Kàn.

The Gran Djòkò are the expert students of the 3rd level Kàn.

The Dôkô are the “Masters of DJOKAN,” those who master all the aspects of DJOKAN (techniques, philosophies, histories and cultures) of 5th, 6th, and 7th level Kàn.

This represents the most highest level of DJOKAN. These are the “Caretakers of the DJOKAN knowledge.” Their mission is continuing to develop and to promote the Tradition DJOKAN and the Teaching of Gran Dôkô.

Gran Dôkô is the Honorific title given by the elders to its Founder and thereafter to his/her successor.



e mail: creaamdeguyane@gmail.com

site réalisé par www.nerdar.com

crédit photo : Philippe Roger http://www.arukuma.com